Dallas ISD announces new choice schools and programs

Botello, De Zavala, and Ignite will join fifteen other schools under Dallas ISD’s Public School Choice initiative, bringing the district total to eighteen Choice Schools. The current Innovation Schools are Cabell Elementary, Kramer Elementary, Lee Elementary, Lipscomb Elementary, Preston Hollow Elementary, Rogers Elementary, Weiss Elementary, Marsh Middle, Franklin Middle, and Bryan Adams High School. The existing Transformation Schools are Mata Elementary, Solar Preparatory, Hulcy STEAM Middle, IDEA, and CityLab High School (opening in August 2017).

The goal of Public School Choice is to grow the range of options so that all Dallas ISD students can attend a best-fit school. Best-fit schools are schools where educators can deeply engage students by tapping into their individual interests, aspirations, and preferred learning styles. These new Choice Schools will offer the same types of rigorous academics as Dallas ISD’s Magnet Schools, but will be open to all students regardless of academic ability. The district’s goal is to have 35 new Choice Schools and programs by 2020.

Click here to read full post.